Living in L A – Erica, guestblogger

Coffee, work, gym, computer, sleep. Repeat. I wanted to get away from my routines and try something new. I took the opportunity of being young and free and went for a semester in California. I needed it. First of all, I was not happy with my English skills. English has always been my worst subject in school (both in my own input and grades) even though I’ve known how important it is. It’s really bothered me and I had to do something about it. Second of all I wanted to spend time in a new country, to learn to know a new culture for real. Finally I wanted to start over on a place where everybody knows absolutely nothing about me. It’s a scary thought but also liberating. Nobody knows anything about my family, my friends, my experiences, my grades or my ambitions. I’ve never felt such freedom. I’ve been here for two and a half months. And my days are instant coffee, gym, studies, computer, sleep. Repeat. But this time in California. I’ll from now on write about my experiences from my life in Los Angeles every second week. Until next time, Erica

14 responses to “Living in L A – Erica, guestblogger

  1. well, your english seems quite good 🙂

  2. Wow.. that’s a brave move! I’m envious, I think that’s what I’d absolutely love to do!! I’ll enjoy reading your posts about this experience! xo Smidge

    • Just to be clear, it’s not me but my guest blogger Erica who has moved to L A, 🙂 She is 20, I am not… Erica is smart, kind, funny and a wonderful person! I, on the other hand have lived in a few other countries and been to America many times. And it’s time for another visit, :). I’ll will forward your comment to Erica.

  3. Hi Marianne, Thanks for liking my big butt (teehee I love writing that).

    Be encouraged!

  4. Stephen, I’m looking forward to visit your blog again, :).

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog Marianne. All the best to you on yours.

  6. Someday, Erica, I will be back to L.A. where I grew up. Not that I’m planning on every possible activity the L.A. area has to offer. Just the idea, you can wake up every day, and decide to be active with whatever or, not.
    If hot-dogs are on your menu, try the ‘Original Tommy’s.’ There was only one location when I was growing up. No sitting. You stood, and ate. Don’t even know if that location still exists. Think it was on Silverlakes?

  7. Thank you for your comments, really appreciate it. I’m so fascionated you can go skiing in the morning and surfing in the afternoon. I must say that hot dogs is not my favorite but I’ll try one there fur sure if I get there, I’ve heard about the place and yes, it’s on Silver Lake!! =)

  8. Your English is a thousand times better than my German, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian, French . . . 🙂

    • I’m sorry, I answered you in Swedish. It has been a long day… What I wanted to say was: on behalf of Erica and myself; thank you for your kind words, 🙂

Leave a Reply

