Brain exercise

Both our bodies and brains need exercise in order to function optimally. But people tend to forget to exercise their brain. You can exercise your brain by reading a book, solving suduko, playing computer games or doing a course. However, watching your favourite TV show does not exercise the brain. Playing chess, or learning a new language does. Why not play with Lego? Could be done by yourself or together with your children. I do it all the time. //Marianne

26 responses to “Brain exercise

  1. Good idea, I need to build something, perhaps a fantasy home.

  2. With only small grandchildren I am still at the duplo stage!

  3. One of the many things I do is to seldom use a calculator.

  4. That’s a great advice Marianne…both mind and body need to be fit to live a healthy life

  5. You’re absolutely right Marianne, we tend to forget to exercise our brain. Thanks for sharing the advice 🙂

  6. Hmmmm…. Not a bad idea!

  7. Anyone who sees the benefit of sudoku, for instance, has my vote:_

  8. Scrabble is a good one too. Most iPhones and iPads have it. You can play against others, or against the machine. It’s way fun.

    • I forgot about scrabble, thank you for reminding me! :). It’s a great way to exercise your brain, and as you say a lot of fun. I haven’t played it for years but it’s going to change.

  9. Several years ago I solved a work flow issue by playing with wooden blocks with my Grandson…inspiration…you never know where it will come from.

    Be encouraged!

    • Kids and toys, together or separate are great sources of inspiration. Grown ups have a tendency to get stuck in their way of thinking. We need to unlock the child within us, :).

  10. The mind is a muscle, and it definitely needs its exercise. Legos are a wonderful toy, that can be used for all kinds of higher level thinking activity 🙂 I also love playing computer games, more so than watching TV or any other passive activity. Keeps me sharp!

    • Lego is the best toy, ever :). People assume that all games are violent, and bad for you when many of them are just the opposite. Play on…. 🙂

  11. I’ve been taking music theory.. and driving my teacher around the bend with my bad memory, lol, but it is improving.. slowly;)

  12. Marianne, I get your posts as a weekly archive (and yes, I’m behind a week in my reading), but I don’t know how you do it. I just have to come up with a pun to match an image each day. You have to come up with something inspirational or motivational each time. You always rise to the occasion.

    • John, thank you so much for your kind words! I’m so glad that you like my posts. I’m passionate about personal development, and when you “burn” for something it’s easy or easier, :). My day job is to help leaders/people to excel at work. My blog is an extension of my work, usually done after work. But sometimes it’s hard even for me, :). I could never come up with a pun to match a an image like you do. Your blog is great!

Leave a Reply

