Belief system

Just because you believe something for a long time, it does not mean you have to believe in it forever. What do you believe in? Do you know, or could it be that you have inherited your belief system from your parents? //Marianne

18 responses to “Belief system

  1. It wasn’t until I moved to Latin America before I could see the world through much-clearer vision, and I saw my country and attitudes of my culture through the vantage point of foreign eyes. I realize that we are all on our own personal journeys, and we are all here to help each other along the way. There should be no labels of ‘what country are you from?’ but for us to see each other as being from the same planet as we make our annual journey around the sun. Z

    • Lisa, I totally agree with everything you say. Traveling is such great gift for many different reasons, and one reason is the one you are mentioning. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on my blog!

  2. Another great post, love it.
    thanks for the follow.. much love πŸ™‚

  3. A belief system should be flexible with time, and acquired wisdom.

  4. aaah, good question to start off the day! My core beliefs (faith, love of family, education as a foundation, etc.) do come from an inherited belief system, though I have adapted those beliefs to my time, my point of view and the family I’m creating, not questioning the value of these beliefs but working them into our everyday lives so that my children don’t see them as inherited but as a what defines them, changing these beliefs from a kind of guideline to a way of thinking and acting, my generation (or at least me) didn’t question the parents’ way but our children do, so imposing a belief system won’t work, i have come to BELIEVE that we need to be INTELLIGENT and mindful of how we raise our children and how we instill in them our core beliefs while making them feel as a way of life not as something from which you can pick and choose, of course leaving space for their own growth and acquisition of personal beliefs…whew, this is heavy stuff…this is the way to start the day, with a good dose of deep thinking..THANK YOU

    • I am so glad that you like my post, and that you took time to think about your belief system. That’s my goal, :). Raising children is a tough job, and todays kids are very smart which is good. At the same time parents have to find new ways to outsmart their children. You seem to have found a strategy that works for your family, congrats! πŸ™‚

  5. A belief system must change as our experiences change us.

  6. Oh Agree with all of them..with times one has to learn and evolve
    lovely question

  7. It’s easy to change what you believe but it is often difficult to convince other people that you have made a change and you are not going back. For instance i have stop being a lazy vegetarian and my children are a little shocked and keep waiting for me to change back.

  8. You have such good post, can I do a re-post from your blog on my blog so that I can share this with others?

Leave a Reply

