Career

Which choices have you made up to now regarding your career?
And besides money, what do want to get out of your job?
//Marianne

6 responses to “Career

  1. free penny press

    Currently I enjoy my job and the financial security it brings. BUT I am definitely tossing around some new ideas for employment once I get settled into my new hometown.. I’m almost 52 so a career is not in my line of sight (I had that), now I want to work because I enjoy it..

    • Almost 52, you are just a baby! 🙂 Seriously, being 52 is considered being young today but wanting to work because you enjoy it should be a goal for all of us. No matter what our age is, and when we do we usually become successful as well. I am really looking forward to hear about your new ideas once you have moved to New Orleans. You are so creative, I love your blog and I am sure it’s going to be something fantastic, :).

  2. I have made choices that allow me some freedom and flexibility in growing my legal practice the way that I would like to. Luckily, the firm I work for is opening themselves up to “new ways of doing things”. By having freedom and flexibility, I am able to get more enjoyment out of my work, and I also have more time to spend with my family, and pursue my other interests (such as writing), that don’t bring much monetary reward.

    • Congratulation on finding a balance between your work, your family and your personal interests! I’m sure a lot of people will be interested in knowing how you did it, ;).

      • I have just always made it clear what my goals and priorities were from the get-go with the partners in my firm (my bosses). I think I learned that after a decade or so of being taken advantage of in previous jobs, that it is sometimes best to just be open, honest, and frank about 1) what your goals are for the job, 2) what your work/life balance priorities are, and 3) what you expect from your employers. That way, everyone is on the same page.

      • Jason, thank you for a great answer. I totally agree with what you say, it’s always for the best if we are open and honest with each other. I meet so many people who are not used to have that kind of relationship with their employers, which is a pity.

Leave a Reply

