A hellish week

I have had a horrible week, it has been beyond terrible and I have had enough of bad news for a while. I need a break and I have decided to put every awful experience in a box, and throw away the key. When things get tough, it is important to sum up ones losses and find a way to solve them. It is ok to cry, scream, be scared, worry, feel helpless and do nothing for a while but it is essential that we fairly soon develop a strategy to help us move on. Otherwise we might get stuck and start to behave like a victim, and that is not helping anyone – just the opposite. No matter how bad your life seems to be, there is always something to be grateful for. It can be a kind word from a stranger, a friend’s shoulder to cry on,Β or a bed at night. It is also important that we give our mind a break from our worries and bring moments of joy into our lives. Watching funny movies is a great trick to help your mind relax. The same goes for funny books, or watching a comedy show. A few minutes of laughter is a great way to reduce stress and help your body and mind to feel better for a while. //Marianne

22 responses to “A hellish week

  1. Deb, thank you for your kind words – it is much appreciated! πŸ™‚

  2. free penny press

    I understand how you are feeling. Last week I was not only very sick but pressures from home had me feeling so heavy. Laughter is an amazing way to de-stress..
    I came across this great (free) service called “Notes from the universe”.. You get a new note everyday..hard to explain but here is the link:http://www.tut.com/.we all need as much positive reinforcement as we can get..Have a wonderful weekend and LAUGH!!!

    • Lynne, thank you for your kind words and for a great tip! My faith in people have been restored today when total strangers helped me getting my car to a garage after it broke down. They wouldn’t let me pay them, but I’m going around with a cake next week, :).

      Earlier this week a couple of “collegues” tried to have me kicked from a job. They went behind my back, told a bunch of lies to the CEO but luckily they failed. The CEO of the company has total faith in me, and he was furious. Collegues that I’ve supported for years, and I often recommend and give work to. It’s interesting how some people think it’s a given to help others, while people who are supposed to be your friends have no problem stabbing you in the back. I’m glad I belong to the first category, the non-stabbing category, :). I wish you a wonderful weekend! I’ve to get ready for a party, and yes I’m going to laugh a lot… πŸ™‚

  3. … or, watch the Franco-Canadian film Indencies. It is not a funny movie, but after you’ve seen it you’ll think “And I call my problem really a PROBLEM?”

  4. The Daughter tells me on days like this….”Chin up, Little Buckaroo.”
    It never fails to bring a smile.
    Hope you are….

  5. When life is at its worse, and i have had life at its very worse and everyone avoids you in case they catch whatever it is you have not that they can catch it and some avoid you because they do not know what to say but the kindest thing that came my way was a touch on the arm and a warm hug. So i am sending you both.

  6. Wow. We were just talking about people’s insecurities or jealousies, and then someone turned those on you. Boo, boo, BOO!

    Although our minds understand how others can be mean, cruel or hateful, our hearts take those lies personally, and it hurts.

    Then there are those lovely angels who do nice things because it’s the right thing to do – period. By having an auto breakdown, you were able to meet a few of those angels!

    Z

    • Lisa, I also had a lovely experience at the garage and that has never happened before, :). Now when I can look at the situation a bit more clearly, I’ve realised their behavior have not been ok for quite a long time. But I didn’t want to belive that they would try and steal work, talk badly about me behind my back etc, I thought we were friends… I’m fine now, the worst is over and soon I’ll be able to forgive as well but not just yet… I’m not a saint, :). Have a wonderful weekend, my friend!

  7. Just did an entry on my own situation. Changed that very nasty negative to a positive. I just had to stop the negative train of thought. I wrote my blog entry as I put up a blockade with just one positive thought, which attracted another positive thought, and a new train of thought. The result was phenomenal. I do wish you a good week!
    http://asecondcup.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/positively-negative-to-positive/

  8. Marianne, aren’t our blogger friends wonderful. I read your article and then went on to read the caring and loving remarks by followers. That’s enough to feel better all by itself, I too have bad days and while usually, like you I can try to make lemonade from the lemons it sure helps when loving people support you. I’m glad they were here for you the next few days, Hope things are better now! Penny πŸ™‚

    • Penny, I’m sorry for the delay in answering you but I’ve had extremely long hours at work the past week. I totally agree with you, my blogger friends are amazing. They are kind, give the best advice and are funny as well, :). I consider myself being very lucky to have met all these wonderful people from all around the world. Their support was fantastic! Thank you so much for caring, and I feel much better now :).

Leave a Reply

