Beliefs

We have different beliefs that help us interpret reality and they are based on our past experience. They also steer our lives to a large extent but it is important to bear in mind that they are not facts as many people think, quite the opposite. Our beliefs about ourselves and about others determine our behaviour, which means that we often create unnecessary obstacles for ourselves. If you have applied for a job and are convinced that you won’t get it, well, the chances are that you probably won’t. A belief often becomes a prophecy. Questioning your beliefs and changing them is a good start towards a better life. Remember, you choose what you believe in! //Marianne

19 responses to “Beliefs

  1. In my real everyday life I probably am surrounded by people/friends who have similar beliefs. Sometimes it is difficult to redefine yourself.

    Here in the blogging world I have met those with different beliefs and ideas. I have been able to express myself in a little bit different manner and have discovered some new and different things that were inside me.

    • It’s normal to surround oneself with people with similar beliefs. At the same time, it’s a good idea to challenge your beliefs from time to time to test if you actually believe in them or not. The blog world is wonderful place, it’s like a giant university where everybody is welcome regardless of age, sex and ethnic background, :). We meet new friends, we learn more about ourselves, we discover new places we’ve never heard about before, change recipies etc. It makes me so happy to hear that you’re able to express yourself a bit different and discover new and wonderful things about yourself in the blogosphere, bravo! 🙂

  2. Thinking without boundaries…
    Thank you, Marianne.

  3. Is it my ego presenting a belief? Contemplation. Meditate to nothing. React only to fact. Does it work every time? No. Beliefs can be very strong. As difficult as it is to drop the ego = belief process. Fact & belief can be two very different things depending upon how long the ego is in control.

    • Beliefs can be extremely strong. And because our thoughts, and behavior often go on autopilot we’ve a tendency to immediately mix our beliefs and facts without actually checking if it’s true or not. Our ego, what can I say – except that it can give us a lot of problems, :).

  4. Beliefs can be so powerful, more often than not we are not even aware of them , they are lodged deep in the subconscious, I call them “Shadows”. I practice contemplative meditation, whilst focusing on a word such as Love, Joy, Peace, Faith, Trust etc I have been doing this form of meditation for 3 years now and I find that I am no longer attracting experiences that no longer serve me. Thank you Marianne for a very valid post.

    • Véronique, I like how you call them “shadows”, it’s very interesting. Thank you so much for a wonderful tip on how to meditate. There are so many different techniques, I know a few myself and I like this one a lot. I’m going to try it tomorrow, :).

  5. Love this concept. Keep up the great work! I particularly like the post about laughing, even though I am not on that one, haha!

    • Lu, thank you for your positive feedback, it makes me very happy that you like my blog! 🙂 Laughing is the best medicine in the world both for our body and mind, and it’s also free. The same goes of course for love, :). Now, I’m going to check out your blog…

  6. If only we all got this, how we form outcomes through our belief systems/ thoughts. Thanks

    • Our belief systems can help us, but also give us much problem. We do things we don’t really like doing but we’ve been told it’s the right thing to do. The important thing is that we now and again challenge our beliefs, so we get the opportunity to decide what we believe in or not believe in. We should always believe in ourself.

  7. Marianne, well said! Most of our beliefs are so ingrained that we operate from them automatically without even realizing it. This is probably because the seeds (beliefs) were planted very early on in our lives. It is important to stay aware of beliefs that limit us from creating the life we truly desire. Turning around limiting beliefs can require deep work but the payoff is well worth it.

  8. Thoughts become reality in good or bad form.

  9. I am here via Pastels by Mary. Lots of great food for thought in your posts. I know you inspire many to be their best selves!!

Leave a Reply

