Concentration

Did you know that it takes 15 minutes to be able to concentrate and only 15 seconds to lose it? It is a good idea to switch off your mobile for a while every day, why not start now? / / Marianne

© 2012 Marianne365days – Change Your Life One Day At The Time – All Rights Reserved

24 responses to “Concentration

  1. I do try but then the house phone starts ringing, it is always one of my children, ‘where are you? where is your phone?’ lol

  2. I have no house phone and have no problem putting the cell on “quiet” I do check periodically to make sure I have missed no really important calls, but I have never been a “phone talker” so this one is easy for me. 🙂

  3. Silence reigns supreme in just being. Nothing phony about quiet.

  4. Bless you! I turned mine off twelve years ago, and most people don’t understand how not having a phone enhances the quality of my life!
    Z

    • I hear you, but I’m not sure I could I do it, or I want to do it….:).

      • Your life is quite different from mine. For me, a cel phone ringing us usually someone wanting to ask, ‘What are you doing?’ and the answer is usually, ‘Painting.’ Stopping in the middle of a watercolor wash is never ever good! I realized that most of the calls were shallow ones, or almost always someone wanted me to do something for them, and rarely was it that they wanted to do something for me! I’ve found if it is important enough, they find me! Of course email is always available, and I can deal with those messages when it fits my schedule, and I don’t have to return a call and get caught in a long-winded conversation!\

        for emergencies, a phone might be necessary, but again, most phones are now connected to emails, so the message i send almost always reaches the intended person immediately!

        miguel with ESCoffee insisted that he give me a phone, and it lasted maybe six weeks before rolling over and refusing to work. i tend to affect certain electrical gadgets during times of stress, so i’m not surprised that the phone sizzled out, to my amusement!

        my father once said, ‘imagine how empty your life would be if no one called or came by,’ and i realized the wisdom in his words. but for me, i have to add, ‘or sent emails,’ and with the latter, my cup runneth over daily.

        i respect all of you who get through each day with the many interruptions from a phone, though i am glad that it’s your life and not mine!

        z

      • When I talk to people I see two camps, those who love all the new technology and love being available 24/7 and those who say: no thank you. Always being available is not good for our brain. It needs to rest every day and that’s hard when you’re always surfing the Internet, blogging, Facebook, watching TV, talking on the phone etc. People who choose not to have a phone, or Internet know what they are doing and it’s up to them how they want to communicate with friends and family. If you live in the same place you can actually talk to each other face to face, :). If you don’t, I’m sure they find another way to communicate. It’s still possible to send a handwritten letter…

        When I work in Spain I only have my phone on for about an hour a day. I’ve missed a couple of business opportunities because of that. The first time I almost “panicked” but then I thought: if they are no longer interested because I didn’t call them back immediately I don’t want to work with them anyway. What ever we choose to do, it’s up to you. I don’t want to live without a phone, or Internet but that is my choice. //Marianne

      • All so true! I realize that I am in a tiny minority. Last week I spent time with a young CEO who had two or three different cel phones within reach, and at times all three had him juggling while he presided over an informal staff meeting with laptop running a power point presentation. He is one of those rare people who can juggle many balls and drop few. He is also very good about delegating tasks to others. At times I snicker and tell him that it’s good for me to spend time with him, but I had a full life when I was younger (100-hour weeks in the summer!) and therefore I now treasure the flip side of the coin!

        He later asked for suggestions, and I smiled and said, ‘Refrain from drinking coffee until after your staff meetings!’

      • I am not so sure you’re a tiny minority any more… :).

  5. I’m all the time connected and I lose my concentration

  6. I keep it off during crucial time of my day and when I am on appointments.

Leave a Reply

