A poet and a boxer

A few months ago I interviewed Jack Kendrick, an American poet, playwriter and actor. For many years Jack has shared his time between New York, Stockholm and the rest of Europe. Nowadays he lives full time in Stockholm but he continues to work all over Europe and in the States. Jack is 80 years old, but he has no plans to retire.  Instead he keeps in shape by boxing 3-5 times a week, and continues to write poetry every day. He writes every single day, without any excuses. His seventh collection of poems, “Leaves in the Wind” is being printed right now, and he is already working on his eight. Don’t be fooled by his age; be inspired by his energy and joy of life. I am. Who inspires you? //Marianne

© 2012 Marianne365days – Change Your Life One Day At The Time – All Rights Reserved

12 responses to “A poet and a boxer

  1. My friend! What a great story about an amazing man!
    “Who inspires you?” – How ironic that your question addresses what I posted last night!
    http://playamart.wordpress.com/2012/09/28/inspiration-while-the-world-outside-my-window-goes-insane
    This man inspires me every day of my life.
    z

    • Amiga, Jack Kendrick is a very inspirational person, and funny as well, :). I loved your post about your nephew – what an inspiration Don is! I’ve been thinking about your question all morning, and I get inspired by people like Don. People who decides to live a good life no matter what happens in their life. Unfortunately we seldom hear about people like Don, or women who has 3 different jobs so they can send her children to university etc. That inspires me, but also people like you who move to a new continent. Have a nice weekend! 🙂

  2. Don speaks each year to newly-injured ‘peers’ and surely gives an amazing talk. Aside from that, he speaks through example. I keep nudging him to share his story – first person would surely have an emotional impact on many. He seems totally at a loss of words for this attention. I snicker a bit – at a loss of words while he kayaks a river with his wife this weekend in Missouri!
    My heart swells again!

  3. Oh, these are the stories I like to hear and people I like to know. Age is only good when we talk about cheese, or wine.

    • Valentina, Jack is an amazing storyteller. We talked for 4 1/2 hours and then I had to leave because I had a dinner date that kept calling wondering were I was, :). Jack has done many movies and theater but he started out in the soapopera “All my children”. He has also won prizes for his plays. He’s an amazing man, the article is in Swedish and unfortunately I’ve had a hard time to translate it correctly, it lacks a certain flow. Articles can be tricky to translate, but I think I am going to give it a try again, :).

  4. would have loved to meet him.

  5. Anthony Taylor

    Jack, tack för att du är den du är – vi ses på tisdag – sista gången. Now you’ll be able to play and run with Jim Thorpe. A friend – A

    • Jack var en fantastisk person, pratade med honom bara en vecka innan han dog. Han kommer att bli saknad! Jack was a wonderful person, I am going to miss him a lot!

Leave a Reply

