The best of plans

One of the best things about travelling is that things seldom turn out the way you expect. Yesterday I had a long list of things I wanted to do, and my map was full of instructions from the friendly hotel staff. After a while I realised I was chasing the dragon’s tail without any luck, because I was going in the opposite direction. For once it was not me who read the map the wrong way, the instructions were actually wrong. By now I was famished and very dehydrated, it was time for a late lunch. The first restaurant I walked past I didn’t like, the second one turned out to be a private strip club. I am not sure why I thought it was a restaurant, and no, I am not going to give you the address. If you want to glare at naked women you have to find the place yourself. Suddenly I found a restaurant that looked nice, and where everybody were fully clothed. Happily I went inside just to be told I had to sit in the basement because I was alone. Single, or not single I am not a person who accepts to sit in the basement. I refused; they tried to make me change my mind. I refused again and after a lengthy talk between the headwaiter and the manager I got a table. In the corner, but with a nice view. With a pot of tea at my disposal I was ready to read the menu and order myself a feast of Chinese food. Oh dear, it turned out I had picked one of the best Cantonese restaurants in Hong Kong and it is priced there after. This is one of my hidden talents, picking the best restaurants without any inside information and also finding the cleanest toilets around the world. There were many dishes I wanted to order from the menu, and a few I didn’t want to eat like “shredded snake thick soup or braised king eel hot pot”. Being Swedish I normally eat eel, but just in small pieces together with other food, not as an entire meal. In the end it was my wallet that picked the cheapest dish, which was “steamed cured goose liver sausage and cured pork sausage”. The restaurant is famous for its handmade sausages so it was I good choice. Did I like it? Nnnjaa… Did I regret my choice of restaurant? Absolutely not, it was a new experience and I love making “mistakes” like this. Eventually I also found one of the places I wanted to see, the outdoor wet market at Graham Street. The place where the food is so fresh it is still alive. Live fish is sliced lengthways, their exposed hearts left beating on the slab. Some people think this is shocking but not me. Instead it reminded me of my grandfather, and how we used to go fishing every summer until I realized teenage boys were more interested. Poor granddad, I think I broke his heart the year I turned 15. No, we do not slice the fish lengthways in Sweden but I know what to do with a fish that is still alive.  The day started with a very long list, and at the end of the day I could delete one thing from it. I wonder what will happen today, I cannot wait to see. //Marianne

© 2012 Marianne365days – Change Your Life One Day At The Time – All Rights Reserved

16 responses to “The best of plans

  1. I can’t begin to imagine…..If I see a fish alive, out of water, I must get it back in to water, quickly. my wife says, I am the perfect example of a ‘wuss.’ I can’t even watch wildlife shows on TV where they prey on one another. There is only one answer. I am admittedly, a ‘wuss.’

    One who trusts their instincts, may sometimes follow the wrong map to the right destination.

  2. oh my goodness! what an experience you are having! i often say that it’s not what you have planned for the day, but what the day has planned for you. for me, once i stop fighting against the current and begin to flow with it, life ‘lightens up’ on me.

    when one is hungry, dehydrated and tired, it’s hard to keep one’s sense of humor!

    i am writing from a new location this morning – the oldest hacienda in ecuador, and i am about to go outside and greet the day which is just awakening. i will send you a big smile with the first new bird species that i see!

    z

  3. I’m really glad you convinced them and had your lunch in the restaurant not underneath it…the surprises of getting to know a new culture…can’t wait to read more 🙂 take care big hug, Alexandra

  4. Wow, what a story – wouldn’t be the same without those interesting photo’s!

  5. Marianne–What I learned from your Oct. 21-26 posts is that I must ask myself 3 things (all beginning with “must”) if I want to choose an attitude that will help me identify something I’ve wanted to do but have been afraid to do (like tight-rope walking while wearing swim fins). Even if I fell I would know my worth–about a pun a day–and it would be “badder” to have my puns stolen than my credirt cards, especially since we had to cut up all our cards when we entered the debt-reduction program. Finally, if the best plans lead me into the finest restaurant in town (with no credit–see above), I can always order the sausage while casing the place. –John

  6. jajajajajajajaja me ha encantado tu historia y me ha hecho reir mucho, menos mal que al final acertaste con el plato!!

Leave a Reply

