Bula

A week ago I got a heartfelt welcome when I arrived to the tropical paradise of Fiji. It started with a nice drive in the countryside, and ended up with a Kava ceremony. Kava is a big part of Fijian culture, and it is a way of welcoming visitors and also bond over storytelling. Kava is an infusion from a pepper plant, looks like muddy water and makes you tongue go furry. There are certain protocols to be followed at a kava ceremony, like sitting cross-legged, facing the large wooden bowl of Kava called the tanoa. Do not walk across the circle of participants, turn your back or point your feet at the tanoa. If you need to leave, say “chillo” which means excuse me. The dried and powdered root is mixed with water, and it is served in a coconut shell, the bilo. Clap once, accept the bilo and say “bula” which literary means life. Drink it all at once, and clap three times in gratification. The drink will be shared until the tanoa is empty. What a way to make me feel welcome! Bula to all my new friends in Fiji, and bula to all my friends around the world. When was the last time you welcomed a stranger into your life? //Marianne

© 2012 Marianne365days – Change Your Life One Day At The Time – All Rights Reserved

15 responses to “Bula

  1. Lucky you … surrounded by the beauty of Fiji. Cold and rainy here!

  2. Enjoy!!! Every second of it.
    I’m almost green with envy! 🙂 🙂
    Love
    Dina

  3. Lovely experiance, lovely place, and Jealous. 🙂

  4. I spent a week in Fiji and found it to be the paradise I’d dreamt it would be. I hope your stay is equally nice.

    • John, I am having a great time. The people are so friendly, it’s warm and sunny, :). Where did you go in Fiji?

      • I went there after spending 2 weeks in Australia and stayed at the Sofitel Resort. For the most part, I went snorkeling and into Nadi a few times to dine and to shop at the duty-free shops. Such beautiful islands and wonderful, friendly people. I would really enjoy heading back there one day.

      • Fiji is an amazing place, and especially the locals. I’ve never met friendlier people anywhere in the world, they are fantastic, :). I hope you can come back one day…

  5. free penny press

    Sounds like a wonderful welcome to a beautiful place. Enjoy and embrace your stay there!!

  6. What a wonderful trip you are having. Thanks for sharing it with us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

