Taking a break

For the first time in a very long time I am not going to be available to anyone. I am going on a cruise around the Fiji Islands, and there is no Internet on the ship. My mobile phone is going to be turned off as well. The last time that happened was when I went on a silent retreat in Egypt in February 2010. Before I left Sweden I begged the manager of the retreat to let me use their computer and Internet. She apologized very kindly that the connection was so bad they could only use it themselves for a couple of minutes a few times a week. I almost panicked, no Internet for seven days. I was not sure I would survive. These seven days of silence were magic, and I loved every second of it. When it was time to leave, one of the women whispered in my ear; the Internet connection is excellent here. They had tricked me, and two and half years later I am still grateful. Tomorrow I am not going on a silent retreat but I am taking a break from Internet, but my blog is still active. For the next seven days I am going to ask you one question each day. One question to help you improve your life, one day at the time. Sota tale! // Marianne

© 2012 Marianne365days – Change Your Life One Day At The Time – All Rights Reserved

36 responses to “Taking a break

  1. Fiji Islands doen’t sound too bad..even though there’s no internet connection:)

  2. I had done the same this past May. Have a good Internet detox time.

  3. Good for you!! 🙂

  4. The Gang of Five, Susie, and I wish you the very best in all you do…and we look forward to you resuming your rightful place in our little community…Be encouraged!

    • Stephen, thank you so much! I am back, better and smarter than before… :). Ok, that was a bit of a exaggeration, but I am much happier than before. Too much work, and to little sleep can make most people, including me a bit stressed. This weekend I am dog sitting my friends dog Lulu, and I love it, :). All the best to everyone!

      • Marianne, great to hear from you…the blog world is such a fragile community…seems like people come and go…but Susie and I cherish our relationship with you…I’m even considering doing a little resting myself…currently working 100 hours a week…but hope to cut that back a little here in the near future…be encouraged!

      • Stephen, I am here for the long run and I am so glad that we’ve become friends. 100 hours a week, time to cut back my friend… :). Love from Fiji

      • Let’s just say I am REALLY looking forward to the holidays…lol…be encouraged!

      • Stephen, I bet you are… but please, look after yourself and try and work a bit less already now…

      • Marianne you won’t believe it…but God intervened and I’ve spent the last week in bed nursing a wicked cold that was meaner than all forces of darkness during full moon…okay I don’t know too much about the dark forces at full moon, but I thought it sounded about right for how I felt…anyway I’m back up and tentatively ramping back up to full production…although it is amazing how smoothly everything ran while I was out of commission…maybe I should leave others in charge more often…lol…be encouraged!

      • Stephen, God is smart and I am sure your cold was a blessing in disguise… :). The question is, have you learnt anything from it? Like working less… It’s always a “sad” day when we realise people can run the business smoothly even though we’re not there, :). Now, let the good forces guide you, and work little bit less – come on, you can do it! 🙂 Love from Fiji to everybody

      • I am taking your advice to heart…who says kids can’t teach old people anything?…we love ya…be encouraged!

      • Stephen, very funny! 🙂 In Fiji I am like a kid, laughing all the time. In Sweden very serious and very grown up, hmm… why is that… Love from the South Pacific

      • It is that ocean air…same things happens to me when Susie and I get to Florida…except I am also kind of kid when I’m home here in Indiana…oh well, at least I’m happy…much love from Susie, the Gang of 5, and me…be encouraged!

  5. this is great! you will surely have a wonderful time (are having a wonderful time!) z

    • Liza, I have had a fantastic time. I’ve been to islands few tourists, or locals have seen as it’s a bit difficult to go there. Everything was perfect, and I loved every minute of my holiday! 🙂

      • i am so glad that you had a great time. i thought of you a lot, and i am sure that everyone else did as well. you were missed, but in a very healthy way!

        how wonderful to experience an area in the way that you did! good for you- you deserved it!

        z

  6. Have a wonderful time Marianne!

  7. I’ll bet it felt like a gift ~

  8. Perhaps our connection to others is dependent more on our thoughts and how we put them into words, than on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

