Sleep well, think well

DSC_4294

The brain is in a constant state of tension between cells and chemicals that try to put you to sleep and cells and chemicals that try to keep you awake.
The neurons of your brain show vigorous rhythmical activity when you are asleep, perhaps replaying what you learned that day.
People vary in how much sleep they need and when they prefer to get it, but the biological drive for an afternoon nap is universal. Loss of sleep hurts attention, executive function, working memory, mood, quantitative skills, logical reasoning, and even motor dexterity. From the book “Brain rules” by John Medina. //Marianne

12 responses to “Sleep well, think well

  1. i agree with you, afternoon naps should be universal 🙂

  2. Sleep is so important…and we all know but choose to ignore it! I have seen how lack of sleep affects me the following day. Arianna Huffington on benefits of sleep

  3. I’m a napper and find a break in the day gives me not only more physical energy but mental energy as well. Long live the NAP!!

  4. Shouldn’t be any choice between a nice new mattress or a nice new wide screen TV. Well, of course not!

  5. I have always avoided taking naps (I’m nervous I will sleep too long and won’t be able to sleep at night), but maybe I should think about this. Couldn’t hurt to at least try it!

    • Set a timer on 15 minutes, or do the spoon trick which I wrote about on the 19th of December. You should never sleep more than 30 minutes during the day, and 15 minutes is plenty of time for a nap, :).

  6. I envy people who can take a nap in the middle of the day. My mind will never shut off long enough for me to do so. I wish it would.

    Tim

    • Hi Tim, being able to let your mind be silent is something we can learn. Stressed people usually have problems with this. One way to do it, is to say the word “one” silently to yourself over and over again. Start with 2 minutes, and see how it goes. Good luck! //Marianne

Leave a Reply

