Outside versus inside

IMG_3322Sometimes we are being let down by people around us. It might be intentionally, but it might be due to poor communication and a silly misunderstanding. There can be many reasons why a person let you down. Until you ask, you will never know why it happened. Then there are times when people are not what they say they are. The inside is not the same as the outside. We are being duped, and at the end of the day we are asking ourselves: what happened and why did it happen to me? It doesn’t matter if it is professional or private. It hurts, it hurts emotionally and if you are unlucky it also hurts financially. How do you really know what a person is like on the inside? //Marianne

13 responses to “Outside versus inside

  1. oh wow have you ever presented a perfect thought for the day! friends and i are dealing with the “The inside is not the same as the outside. We are being duped,” part..

    at least there is strength in numbers, but we are all dumbfounded that this person who presents such an amazing front to the world has let us down on three different ‘cases.’ the silver lining that i see is that it has brought us together in positive ways as well.

    • Lisa, the universe is amazing and it’s funny how people’s lives are intertwined all the time, :). I’ve been thinking about “the outside versus the inside” for a long time because I’ve been duped a couple of times during the past 12 months. What really surprises me is that some people have showed their true self when I’m away. They forget the world is a small place now a days with Internet, and they think I’ll never find out about what they have done. Watch what they do, not what they say is a good philosophy. I like the silver lining in your story… :).

  2. Your question is very profound. Some people have an innate ability to read people; and on the other hand, there are people who are good at charming others. It’s difficult to guess what’s going on with someone unless they honestly tell you, or sometimes careful observation can reveal a person’s true nature.

    • Russell, I agree it’s difficult to know and I am not ashamed to admit that I’ve been duped several times. Watch what they do, not what they say is a good philosophy. Also taking your time before you commit to different things whether it’s professional or personal. It’s ok to say: I need to think about it. And of course trusting your gut feeling, :).

  3. rimassolosailingaroundtheworldm

    Thank you so much for sharing blog

  4. I never really know because people show the face they want to show to the people they want to show it to, though I do get this feeling that tells me beware or at ease when I interact with someone, however, I have been duped and my senses have failed more than once…so I feel that being myself at least gives me have the tranquility that someone is being real 🙂

  5. Yes, I had forgotten about body language…such a powerful tool!

  6. Great post Marianne! I think I have been duped so many times before that I am not that surprised anymore. I kind of let the early warning signs guide my gut to know the truth will eventually come out, I lower my expectations of that person and when it does come about I am not so shocked by it. I feel a bit cynical, but still able to make new friends, just don’t let them in as close as I used to.

    • You’re not alone in your way of thinking. It’s a bit sad but very human, and I totally understand you. I’ve been duped when it comes to business several times the last couple of years, and it used to make me very angry. It also took me a long time to forgive and let go, :).

Leave a Reply

